Egg Tempera Forums

Egg Tempera Forums (http://www.eggtempera.com/forum/index.php)
-   The Forum for Tempera Painting Issues (http://www.eggtempera.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   Help!! Too much glue in Gesso recipe (http://www.eggtempera.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1146)

tjatkings 25-07-17 03:26 AM

Too much glue in Gesso recipe

Hey All,

So happy to finally be able to post on this forum. I have been practicing with Tempera for several years and this site has proved to be an invaluable resource. Last I checked membership was closed so quite excited to be writing this finally.

I have a question related to gesso panels. Have been making gesso with Kama Pigment's extra refined rabbit skin glue and in general it has worked well. I decided to try my luck and modify the standard recipe a bit as I had wound up with hairline cracks all over some panels. I think this time I used too much glue - after seven coats of the glue the gesso has almost a gloss too it and is very hard. It is still sandable and I was able to get it relatively smooth but the gloss is still present. I am worried about the paint adhering to the panel - if the surface is too hard/smooth. Should I be worried about this or should I just go ahead? Anyone have experience with this?

Alternatively, I paint in is oil as well, so at the moment my plan is to throw an oil ground over top and use them for oils instead. It would be a shame, but I can always make more.

Look forward to speaking to you all. Cheers!

Tyson

RobM 25-07-17 04:22 PM

Hi Tyson, welcome to the forums.
I always stick rigidly to one recipe as outlined on the main web site. For well over 20 years I've never had a panel fail. Yes, my grounds have a hard and slight gloss and there has been no problem with any of the paintings. Suggest you try some egg tempera paint on a corner of the panel and see if it adheres. I see no reason why it should not.
Rob

Koo Schadler 26-07-17 01:11 PM

Hello Tyson,