Egg Tempera Forums

Go Back   Egg Tempera Forums > The Forums > The Forum for Tempera Painting Issues

The Forum for Tempera Painting Issues Sharing the knowledge and experience of fellow tempera painters.

Old 23-04-07, 11:40 PM

Default Ground Issues - Measuring Progress for a Newbie - Part 1

I don't feel bad posting this. This board has been way too quiet. Now you all have something to do.

OK, it finally quit snowing around here, the sun came out and with my blood levels of vitamin D a little more elevated, I took the plunge to prepare my own ground. I went off to a lumber yard and got several types of wood samples (poplar, marine plywood and maple veneer) and printed out Bert's instructions for mixing up rabbit skin glue (see previous posts about cracks in a panel). I put some rsg in a coffee can and put in just enough water to cover it. It immediately developed the consistancy of really overcooked oatmeal (I know. I'm an expert at overcooked oatmeal). Roughly 30 seconds later, it evolved into a fairly inert blob of rubber. I added more water, got about 45 seconds of the oatmeal state before it rubbarized. I finally just filled the whole can with water and it stayed oatmeal-like for about 5 minutes, long enough to glob it in a panic onto my board and linen. (just wait til I get to part two: the gesso that ate my kitchen)

My question is this: Hey Bert! Is this what's supossed to happen? I gave it a day to dry and it dried tight (you bet it's tight!) but there are little balls of RSG all over it and it's blotchy. Also, the poplar is warping, even though I coated both sides of the wood. (The marine plywood is not. The maple veneer is warping, but due to the rapid rubbarized metamorphosis of my glue, I couldn't finish getting on the coat, so I'm not even goiing to worry about that.) I ended up sanding to get off all those little balls. Did I screw up? How?