Egg Tempera Forums

Go Back   Egg Tempera Forums > The Forums > The Forum for Tempera Painting Issues

The Forum for Tempera Painting Issues Sharing the knowledge and experience of fellow tempera painters.

Old 20-05-11, 07:11 PM

Default Using MDF anyway?

Hi All,
A few months ago I ordered about six panels from a carpenter here in Belgium. Three required some special work. I thought I had specified plywood but when I went to pick them up, discovered that the panels he had prepared were MDF - which I have never used before. Of course I protested, but since it was a miscommunication - and in another language - I decided to see if I could make it work, not knowing about the bad rap I am now encountering about MDF.

If I understand the problems they are the following:
  • unknown oils may have been used in the production of the panels which may cause the gesso to separate from the support over time.
  • those same unknown oils may leach into the gesso and thus the painting, also over time
  • the fibrous nature of the panels will naturally absorb moisture at the edges causing swelling over time
  • any more I'm not aware of?
Since I am now stuck with boards, I'd like to go ahead and use them but hope to take precautions as best as I can. Thus, if I sand the panels well and glue a piece of linen to them as though they were plywood can I (hope to) escape the first two potential problems? Does anyone have experience with doing this?

Any tips on sealing the edges well? Would acrylic gesso, since it is less hydroscopic, be a possible candidate?
Old 21-05-11, 08:51 PM