Egg Tempera Forums

Go Back   Egg Tempera Forums > The Forums > The Forum for Tempera Painting Issues

The Forum for Tempera Painting Issues Sharing the knowledge and experience of fellow tempera painters.

Old 11-11-15, 02:41 PM

Default Casein Gesso from Sinopia

I happened to pop over Sinopia's website recently, and noticed they are now selling casein gesso. For many years they have offered the raw material for making casein and gesso yourself, but now they are also offering it pre-mixed, which came as quite a pleasant surprise. As some of you may know, it offers the same look and feel as gesso made from rabbit skin glue. The major difference is they claim this gesso has no limited shelf life, possibly due to the oil content.

I've been making my own casein paints and gesso for many years, so I was curious to see what their's looks like and ordered a small sample. As soon as I get it, I'll test it out and let you know what I think. If anyone here has already tried it, let me know.

Here's a link:
http://www.sinopia.com/Casein-Gesso_c_11.html
Old 12-11-15, 01:57 AM

I'm interested to know what you determine. Thanks, Eric
Old 13-11-15, 01:18 PM

The jar of gesso arrived in the mail yesterday. I think I'm going to like it, but it's not quite what I expected. I hesitate to call this a "gesso." It's more like an oil primer to me, but an oil primer that you can paint on with water based media.

I wrote up a review of it on my blog last night that you can read here:
https://dbclemons.wordpress.com/2015...-casein-gesso/

I didn't test egg tempera on it, or not yet anyway. Since I wouldn't refer to myself as a tempera painter, I wouldn't presume to advise such artists on how it feels. You should check it out for yourself. A 4 ounce jar was just $8. Gouache and casein paint work on it very well, so I expect egg tempera would also.
Old 13-11-15, 03:38 PM

cool, thanks
Old 15-11-15, 08:34 PM
Tempera Painter