Egg Tempera Forums

Go Back   Egg Tempera Forums > The Forums > Critique Forum

Critique Forum Post your work here for constructive criticism

Old 27-05-06, 07:42 AM

Default Orchids

10"x10" (300lb Arches)

I started this the other night as a watercolour, but decided to do it as a detailed tempera painting. I am doing a series of four different orchids for my mother-in-law that lives in Korea. This is my first attempt at flowers. Thanks and take care.
Old 31-05-06, 01:32 AM
Mona Diane

Default Orchid painting

Brian,

The orchids are so beautiful, I wish you were calling it 'done' already.
It's your prerogative to continue, (as the artist of course!), but it has such beauty and power in it's simplicity, and also retains the watercolor feel. Lovely!

Mona
Old 31-05-06, 02:02 AM

Default Re: Orchid painting

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mona Diane
Brian,

The orchids are so beautiful, I wish you were calling it 'done' already.
It's your prerogative to continue, (as the artist of course!), but it has such beauty and power in it's simplicity, and also retains the watercolor feel. Lovely!

Mona
Aloha and thank you Mona for your comments, and yes, even my wife suggested that I just finish up the stem and leaf on this and call it done too. So I am debating whether to do this or not. Thanks again and take care!
Old 31-05-06, 09:09 PM

I had an art teacher once that said it took two people to make a painting.One to paint it, the other has a 2x4 so he can hit him over the head when it's finished. Bert LOL :lol:
Old 04-06-06, 09:15 PM

Now framed, is the lavendar metal frame too much though? Or should I go with a natural oak frame? I always have trouble framing my works, what's the general consesus out there? Or should we start a new thread in the other section about framing your work? Thanks and take care!
Old 05-06-06, 12:17 PM

Default Orchids