Egg Tempera Forums

Go Back   Egg Tempera Forums > The Forums > The Forum for Tempera Painting Issues

The Forum for Tempera Painting Issues Sharing the knowledge and experience of fellow tempera painters.

Old 03-06-06, 11:25 PM
helmarshausen

Default Urgent, mulling problems!!

I am new to egg tempera and am having trouble. I use a muller to mix the pigment into water to make the paste. My yellow ochre, no matter how long I mull it, continues to have tiny, tiny, clumps which are a real problem when I mix it into egg and put on the gesso panel. I've read here that some of you just mix the pigment in a jar with water by shaking it!

How in the world, if mulling it isn't taking out the lumps, is shaking it in a jar with water going to solve that problem?

Do I need more tooth on my muller and slab?
Is yellow ochre just a difficult color?

what do I do?

Roger
Old 04-06-06, 07:02 PM

Default Re: Urgent, mulling problems!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by helmarshausen
How in the world, if mulling it isn't taking out the lumps, is shaking it in a jar with water going to solve that problem?
The advice to shake pigments in water is probably the most inaccurate and inept advice about dispersing pigment in water that I have read. Paint manufacturers use high-speed dispersion mixers and attrition mills to disperse pigment in wetting solutions, so I cannot imagine how shaking in a bottle could achieve anything even close.

Quote:
Do I need more tooth on my muller and slab? Is yellow ochre just a difficult color?
Yellow ochre is not a particularly difficult color to disperse, so if you have large lumps than continued grinding may be in order. If the lumps are very small you may be experiencing the the discrete particle size of the pigment, which for earth colors is quite natural and common, and hence you may want to levigate (wash) these out or perhaps find a different yellow ochre.
Old 05-06-06, 11:51 PM

Default mulling problem