Egg Tempera Forums

Go Back   Egg Tempera Forums > The Forums > The Forum for Tempera Painting Issues

The Forum for Tempera Painting Issues Sharing the knowledge and experience of fellow tempera painters.

Old 04-12-06, 04:08 AM

Default alternative grounds

I just don't like making the traditional panels (though I like their surface). I don't get too many good panels for the effort I put in, so I'm wondering if anyone here can recommend alternatives for me. The commercial panels are too hard and slick. Can watercolor paper be glued to hardboard and used? Can egg tempera be applied directly to RSG (no chalk) coated hardboard? MUST one use the chalk gesso ground? Are there other alternatives?
Old 04-12-06, 03:12 PM

Default a little more info

Just a little more info--though an experienced artist, I'm fairly new at egg tempera so I'm still learning. But the recipe I was using was simply plain gelatin heated in a double boiler with garden variety lime added to it. Is lime different enough from chalk that it would make a difference? I checked and it seems chemically that whiting, chalk, etc are chemically the same as garden variety lime, just not as white. The panels that came out well were wonderful to paint on, I just have trouble duplicating the process since the glue/lime tends to absorb into the previous layer before I've had a chance to spread it smooth. Also sometimes the new layer picks up the layer beneath, complicating things further. I end up with very lumpy surfaces which require a lot of sanding. Hence, a lot of work.
Old 04-12-06, 04:31 PM

Default Alternative grounds

I just checked my reference book, Formulas for Painters, because I had never heard of anyone using lime as a ground for egg tempera. Generally, this is used for fresco but I also found a recipe for use with casein. Also, some pigments are stable with lime with a high magnesium content