Egg Tempera Forums

Go Back   Egg Tempera Forums > The Forums > The Forum for Tempera Painting Issues

The Forum for Tempera Painting Issues Sharing the knowledge and experience of fellow tempera painters.

Old 12-02-07, 09:50 PM

Default when do I mix linseed oil with tempera paints?

HI as you probably can already guess I am new to this technique and appreciate all the suggestions everyone has posted. I would like to know when I need to use linseed oil with my paint mixture and how much ratio of oil to paint. Do I need to add distilled water to this mixture (or anything else appart from egg) and why not (if none is needed). I also would like to know wether I need to use refined, stand oil or some other type of linseed oil to mix with my pigments, what are the differences between using oil and oil-free paints?
Old 12-02-07, 10:16 PM
Administrator

Hi Miss P
Me again.........
As a quick reply to the actual question..........Never.........but then those who do the oily tempera thingymajig......over to them.........
RM
Old 13-02-07, 02:37 AM

I think ET is harder to use when it has oil added (to a maximum of about equal parts oil and yolk then equal parts of that mixture to water with lots of shaking in between) but I think some will disagree. The conventional oil to use is stand linseed oil. Actually some small addtions of resin turpentine are often used at this point as well. By this stage I think you might as well start using oil paints. The colours lose a lot of their high tone (and luminosity) with oil added so one of the distinctive effects of ET that oil paint can't really duplicate successfully is going missing.

jeff
Old 13-02-07, 11:51 PM

Default linseed oil

Hi, why is there such a difference of opinion on using linseed oil or not? Is it for purist reasons or practical ones?
Old 14-02-07, 03:40 PM