Egg Tempera Forums

Go Back   Egg Tempera Forums > The Forums > The Forum for Tempera Painting Issues

The Forum for Tempera Painting Issues Sharing the knowledge and experience of fellow tempera painters.

Old 18-02-07, 01:37 AM

Default Acrylic Gesso on Board and preprepped Boards

Hi folks!

I just discovered this forum (let's hear it for google!) and want to get a little feedback. Though I'm an experienced illustrator, I'm a real rookie to et. I read somewhere that painting on acrylic gesso is an absolute no no, that it can't be done. I'm currently on my second piece using acrylic gesso as a ground and can tell you it can indeed by done. However, it is a bear to control, more temperamental than gouache and I am wondering, is that because of the gesso or in spite of it? Also, after spending hours on this monster of a painting, will it crack and turn to dust anytime soon because of my ignorant choice?

Thanks!
[www.artwanted.com/maplebrush][/url]
Old 18-02-07, 06:30 AM

Default gesso

In my opinion, the first layer of ET should be applied to a porous surface. I was taught this, and rhat is what I have always done with no such problem as you describe. I do know, however, an artist who successfully puts ET on acrylic gesso, but he thins the gesso and adds a lot of chalk. I have no interest in such. I believe in using what has been proven. We have ET on glue-chalk gesso paintings that are hundreds of years old, and the colors are still bright and true. I don't think acrylic is 60 years old yet, and I have heard that already there are problems with it.