Egg Tempera Forums

Go Back   Egg Tempera Forums > The Forums > The Forum for Tempera Painting Issues

The Forum for Tempera Painting Issues Sharing the knowledge and experience of fellow tempera painters.

Old 01-04-07, 06:58 PM

Default Cracking in panels and egg tempera paint cracking

Cracks appearing in the ET, rather eratically across the panel and some faults inthe gesso panels.

Can anyone help please I have never had a problem with either cracking of gesso or cracking of ET paint until the last couple of months - I made some new panels using 25 ml plywood which we had had in the outdoor shed for quite a few years , we brought it in to dry - then my husband cut it and I sanded and applied washed muslin and 8 layers of gesso - I added some flow aid, which I have never used before to the gesso on the advice of the gesso making section of this website - that was the only different thing used on this occasion and first of all had problems with cracks in the gesso with one panel actually partly delaminating - this has never happened to me before but I have never used ply before or added flow aid and wondered whether it could be either of these two things.

Secondly, when painting on the reasonably good panels - I then had the painted surface crack into fine crackle glaze type patterns but not all over just in certain areas - any idea what's going on please??? :-(

Depressed of High Wycombe
Old 01-04-07, 07:11 PM

I have been over this Many times, and many people argue with me.
Would you like me to go over it again?
Old 02-04-07, 12:56 AM

I can't recall reading it and would like to. Maybe you could just paste the answer back in here or give a link.

jeff
Old 02-04-07, 03:07 AM