Egg Tempera Forums

Go Back   Egg Tempera Forums > The Forums > The Forum for Tempera Painting Issues

The Forum for Tempera Painting Issues Sharing the knowledge and experience of fellow tempera painters.

Old 01-04-04, 04:06 PM

Send a message via ICQ to iconwriter77373 Send a message via Yahoo to iconwriter77373
Default handling (literally) toxic pigments

Hello all;

I am new to this forum, and appreciate all the great information on it. I am an iconography student of several years and have been using the petit lac method for laying down initial layers of pigment. But I'm trying to learn alternatives, and I appreciate the clear information on the "Techniques" page of this site! Thanks!!!!!

One question: with earths or nontoxic ochres etc., I can see squeezing the brush between the fingers....but what do you do when you're using more toxic pigments? I don't have very many pigments that are toxic.... vermilion and malachite are the only two I really worry about..... but I am wondering if y'all use a different way of squeezing out that brush when you use toxic pigments?

Again, many thanks for this site. Very, very helpful!!! :grin:

Jan
Old 02-04-04, 03:47 AM

Default Re: handling (literally) toxic pigments

Quote:
Originally Posted by iconwriter77373
One question: with earths or nontoxic ochres etc., I can see squeezing the brush between the fingers....but what do you do when you're using more toxic pigments? I don't have very many pigments that are toxic.... vermilion and malachite are the only two I really worry about..... but I am wondering if y'all use a different way of squeezing out that brush when you use toxic pigments?
I don't know of any pigments that penetrate skin. If I have cuts on my hands, I wear gloves while painting. Other than that, I don't eat, drink, touch my face, lick my brush, etc. while painting. I wash very thoroughly with soap and water when I am done. With these precautions, I do not worry at all about getting paint on my hands.