Egg Tempera Forums

Go Back   Egg Tempera Forums > The Forums > The Forum for Tempera Painting Issues

The Forum for Tempera Painting Issues Sharing the knowledge and experience of fellow tempera painters.

Old 27-05-08, 01:57 AM

Question Brand-new to Tempera

I have been doing watercolor for many years and I am getting into tempera because I want to illustrate some work for my mother.

Can anyone advise me on a beginner kit that will allow me to learn the basics? What size boards are good for beginners? I plan on painting the colors of the Sonora Desert.

What kinds of brushes should I use? Is this a watercolor-like medium or more oil in consistency?
Old 27-05-08, 04:53 PM
Administrator

Hi and welcome to the forums.
If you want to go down the route of pure egg tempera there are really no off the shelf kits. You will need to get pigments which are the basis of egg tempera. You could of course initially try out the 'tubed' variety of what the manufacturers call egg tempera, however, it is believed they do contain linseed oil making it more of an oil tempera. There are plenty of posts here relating to this product, Sennelier and Rowney make them. Try a search for the product by name or tubed tempera, you will get all the posts relating to this.
As far as boards are concerned I would suggest you start small, maybe 10" x 8".....do you intend making your own panels or purchasing, again there are links here or on the main web site (www.eggtempera.com) to commercially available products. There is also loads of technical information.
As far as brushes are concerned then I suggest sables and also synthetic brushes, much the same as you use for watercolours.
Watercolour or oil type medium?......mmmmm.....it does not really fit into either category.......I would say it was a medium in its own right.
Old 27-05-08, 06:56 PM

Thank you, Rob!