Egg Tempera Forums

Go Back   Egg Tempera Forums > The Forums > The Forum for Tempera Painting Issues

The Forum for Tempera Painting Issues Sharing the knowledge and experience of fellow tempera painters.

Old 08-12-08, 03:12 AM

Question How do I repair missing paint?

Hello
I've been working in egg tempera off and on for about 15 years now, and just discovered you I'm so glad!

About 10 years ago i did 2 paintings on claybord (5"x7"). After they had spent several months in the air on my book shelf, I wrapped them in cotton flannel and put them away, taken out occasionally to show students. (I'm a teacher, and art is one of my subjects).

About 3 years ago I had a close look at them and saw that some bare spots were visible, where the paint had come off (possibly rubbed off by careless handling or even the flannel wrap). The spots are not too large, the biggest is about 1/4" diameter, if that, but very obvious on a small work. (One painting is more affected than the other) I wrapped them away again, 'cause I didn't want to face the problem.

Now I have my courage up and am thinking off tackling a repair, but I'm not sure:
Should i just try to paint in the empty spots? I seem to remember that claybord only takes so much paint before it's grip is lost and no more can be added. Do i have to prepare the claybord in some way?

Any and all suggestions are welcome.

As a bit of background, I used dry paint pigments (real ones) mixed with yolk to do these works. I let them cure then buffed them with a silk cloth. I didn't seal them with any type of varnish. (One that I did seal just looks waaaaay too shiny)

Thank you very much
Elizabeth
Old 08-12-08, 01:56 PM
Administrator

Hi Elizabeth,