Egg Tempera Forums

Go Back   Egg Tempera Forums > The Forums > The Forum for Tempera Painting Issues

The Forum for Tempera Painting Issues Sharing the knowledge and experience of fellow tempera painters.

Old 21-04-09, 11:07 AM

Default Mixed/Miche Technique/Method

Hey All,
I am new to this forum, although I have been using egg tempera and the mixed technique for some 25+ years (off and on).
I got the mixed technique information from a friend of mine who studied with Nicolas Wacker in Paris in the early 80's.
Over time, my own usage of egg tempera has become incresingly sophisticated although at this point, I still use it primarily as an underpainting. Nevertheless, I am very interested in exchanging experience and information with others here who are practicing the mixed technique. Maybe this can happen: anybody out there???

As some of you may know, the mixed technique proceeds as a twofold process: First a glaze usually consisting of a color mixed into turps, varnish and oil is laid over the painting. After that has dried just slightly (a few minutes or less), it is wiped back off, leaving a glossy, sticky receptive surface. This surface remains receptive for about 18 hours or so depending on the climate, etc... The second step is working emulsion based oils back into that surface. Soft, sensuous blending with unifying as well as luminous effects becomes possible.
I love it!!!

Here's my question/difficulty: