Egg Tempera Forums

Go Back   Egg Tempera Forums > The Forums > The Forum for Tempera Painting Issues

The Forum for Tempera Painting Issues Sharing the knowledge and experience of fellow tempera painters.

Old 04-09-09, 05:10 PM

Default Orthodox icons - glass technique

Hello everyone!

I'm new to the forum and i need some tips because i'm a beginner .I painted once(some years ago)an orthodox icon on glass surface,in hurry, and now i want to do it again but in a better way.The respective icon i made years ago has deteriorated,i mean the tempera cracked so i washed it and i started another icon 3 weeks ago.My questions are:

1.I made the lines with drawing ink(and some sharp sticks for barbeque)but when i apply the colours,these ink lines are spreading in the tempera.Somebody told me to boil the ink with some sugar,in order to become more resisting,so...what you think?Is this a good idea?Or there may be another solution?

2.I don't use powder pigments with egg emulsion as i saw at other people,but tempera(at tubes) with an emulsion composed of egg yolk,water,vinegar and boiled linseed oil.How much emulsion should i add to the tempera?The combination of this emulsion and tempera leaves brush marks even i put a little on glass or a lot but i think i can manage this.Is the egg emulsion(only egg yolk,water and vinegar) more effiicient than the one with boiled linseed oil?

3.It's kinda early to ask this,but what kind of varnish do you recommend me to this type of painting?

I hope somebody will help me Initially i wanted to do this icon for my boyfriend,to give him for his birthday but i don't know if i finish it until then.Also,if you have more tips to give me(about different things that i didn't mention them above) it's ok,i will be glad!

Last edited by Anna Varvara; 05-09-09 at 08:58 AM.
Old 04-09-09, 08:04 PM
Kelley Vandiver

Anna, welcome!!!