Egg Tempera Forums

Go Back   Egg Tempera Forums > The Forums > The Forum for Tempera Painting Issues

The Forum for Tempera Painting Issues Sharing the knowledge and experience of fellow tempera painters.

Old 08-02-10, 02:57 AM

Question purchasing pigments and additives

I am new to the Society. In the past I've used watercolor for pigments in my egg tempera. But I want to expand my options. I've put together a palate of colors to order from a supplier, but I'm not certain how much pigment to buy. I'm on a budget so I don't want to overdue. I am purchasing huge amounts of white and black, (500 grams) because I always need more in those colors. But these colors are cheap to buy. Others are very expensive although I'm sticking to ones I can afford. So does a little go a long way, and 100 or 250 grams is enough or do I need to buy more per color, and limit my palate? Also, though I know colors very well, can someone give me a good list they would start with. And where can I find the ceramic palate and jars?

Last edited by RobM; 09-02-10 at 04:28 PM.
Old 08-02-10, 04:13 AM
antonia acock

Default colors

begin with the basics, Red, yellow and some kind of blue.
Your idea of buying plenty of white and black is a good one although I find I don't use much black. Surprising isn't it? Anyway the other useful colors depend on what kind of egg tempera you are doing. I couldn't paint without burnt and raw sienna and a couple of ochres.I also am fond of raw umber.
All of the natural pigments can be mixed to create other colors. I like to keep some calcium carbonate on hand for patching or covering when necessary too.
Most whites are made of this. I hope this helps. It would be easier if I knew what kind of painting you wanted to do, photo realistic, pastel, dark tones,
impressionistic, abstract etc.
T.
Old 08-02-10, 05:26 PM
Administrator

Hi ms wings,
Yup a little does go a long, long way.
The likes of cadmiums are expensive but you need only buy a small amount.