Egg Tempera Forums

Go Back   Egg Tempera Forums > The Forums > The Forum for Tempera Painting Issues

The Forum for Tempera Painting Issues Sharing the knowledge and experience of fellow tempera painters.

Old 01-06-10, 01:54 AM

Default Any tips on glazing a smooth sky?? I've tried everything listed in the other thread!

Hi,

I'm new to this and I'd like to make smooth skies like Jeff G's or Koo Schadler's.

I've tried so many things and I have been working on this since this morning and it's almost 9 pm!

I tried the cosmetic sponge but I must be doing it wrong. While it looks really soft and "moist" I can't seem to get it done without obvious marks.

I've tried doing ribbons but that didn't work for me.

I tried more egg.

I even tried spraying it in a fine mist but ending up with what looked like cheap countertop laminate.

I am now trying it with a drier brush brushing in all directions and it is starting to cover nicely but it looks so dry. Not what I wanted.

Any ideas for me? Should I just end it and put an oil paint glaze on everything?

Sorry to sound so discouraged. I know it takes lots of practice but I don't even feel like I'm on the right track to get the look I want.

Any ideas or techniques you could pass on?
Thank you
Old 01-06-10, 09:27 PM

Maybe it is because I am using Cobalt and it seems pretty weak and transparent????

I did the skin underpainting in Terre Verte/white and it is smooth as can be. I think I did a better job of crosshatching there (which by the way I don't strive to show).

Nonetheless, I'm trying again and now with a stronger base of Cobalt.

Update:

Well, I didn't quite get what I was initially looking for so I'm still interested if anyone has any tips or tricks....but, I did end up with a highly satisfying clouded sky and feeling much better about it!

Last edited by artistcb; 02-06-10 at 12:18 PM. Reason: Update
Old 03-06-10, 03:46 PM